Educational Technologies Blog- Social Networking

Social networking is a wonderful tool that “can change the way the learner looks at education” (Smith, 2013).
Delicious is the first social networking site that I found to have the following features “store, organize, and share links” (Delicious, 2013). As an educator, I have the ability to set-up of area on Delicious so that learners can come together and share information with their peers and view course information or other relevant information for the class to view. Delicious is a form of RSS that “lets reads and connect with what others write; now we can read and connect with what others read as well” (Richardson, 2010).
Facebook is the second networking site that can give the benefits of collaborating, socializing with peers and professionals, built communication skills, and learn about the technology. A nice feature of Facebook and the classroom is that discussions can take place between learners and the educators. “Facebook can be used to “facilitate a discussion group” another benefit is that most learners are “familiar and comfortable” with Facebook (Walsh, 2010). From what I remember about Facebook, it was a way to stay in contact with friends and family. However, today Facebook has the resource and technology to enhance the learning experience.

References
Richardson, W. (2010). Blogs, wikis, podcasts, and other powerful web tools for classrooms (3rd
ed.). Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin Press.
Smith, F. (2013). How to use social-networking technology for learning. Retrieved from,
http://www.edutopia.org/how-use-social-networking-technology
Walsh, K. (2010). Facebook as an instructional technology tool. Retrieved from,
http://www.emergingedtech.com/2010/08/facebook-as-an-instructional-technology-tool/

9 responses

  1. Thank you for the information about Delicious. I keep meaning to do my own investigations as several people have recommended it to me. Do you have any experiences to share with using it with a learning group?

  2. Hello Janet,

    I have not had an opportunity to use Delicious professionally at this time. However, I would love to have the opportunity to use this social networking tool to see if it would work in my learning environment. The courses that I teach are preset by the curriculum and development team.

    Jennifer

  3. Jennifer,

    Delicious sounds like a wonderful website to use for education. After reading your thoughts about it, I am ready to dive right in and try it out. Facebook is one of the most popular networking cites on the web and if used properly, it could be a greet tool in education. However, I am always doubtful that Facebook will be a distraction.

  4. Hi Jennifer,

    I have never heard of Delicious but will look into it now. Thanks for sharing the information. As for Facebook, I am familiar with it and feel that there are several good things about Facebook that could help students be more engaged in their learning. However, like someone else pointed out I would wonder if Facebook would be somewhat a distraction at times.

  5. Hi Jennifer,

    I have never heard of Delicious but will look into it now, thanks for the info. I am familiar with Facebook and feel that it does has several helpful ways to help students have a more engaging learning experience. However, like someone else pointed out I would wonder if Facebook wouldn’t be somewhat of a distraction at times.

  6. Great post! This is Danielle from class. I just don’t agree that we should use Facebook in class. I will be the last to jump on this bandwagon. I see it as something that needs to be a bit more private. I post pictures of my dogs, my life, or talk about how I am aggrevated about situations in my life. Just a thought! Have a great one!

    1. I would have to agree, I see facebook as my place to let loose and post things that are funny to me or voice my frustration and while I am not beligerant, not everythig is appropriate for students to see. However, if I could see that it would help the students, I could see using it as an additive every once in a while.

  7. I keep hearing about delicious, and while I am not in a classroom setting as of yet, I will definietly look at it.

  8. I have also heard good things about Delicious. It seems to be a platform created to reduce the disruptions of learning that most social networking sites creates. Here is a blog post I came across that gives other alternatives to Facebook for social media experience in the classroom.

    http://www.pearsonschoolsystems.com/blog/?p=921

    Thanks for your post!
    Michelle

Leave a Reply

